skip navigation

2019 McDonald Award semifinalists announced

By Paul Patane, SportsEngine, 02/12/19, 10:00AM CST


See which 30 players made this year's list.

Tyrell Terry (pictured) is one of two DeLaSalle players selected to this year's McDonald Award semifinalist list. The finalists will be announced in early March. Photo by Jeff Lawler, SportsEngine

DeLaSalle's Tyrell Terry (pictured) is of the state's top seniors selected to this year's McDonald Award semifinalist list. The finalists will be announced in early March and the winner will be named shortly after. Photo by Jeff Lawler, SportsEngine

The Minnesota Basketball Coaches Association released its list of 30 semifinalists for this year’s McDonald Award earlier this week.

Only seniors are eligible to win the award, which was created last year and is meant to become the top honor a Minnesota high school basketball player can receive.

The list includes a mix of metro and outstate athletes who have excelled throughout the regular season.

DeLaSalle, the top team in the Class 3A rankings released by Minnesota Basketball News on Feb. 6, is the only school featuring multiple semifinalists, with Tyrell Terry and Jamison Battle being selected.

Terry and Battle have combined for more than 700 points this season. Terry, a 6-foot-3 guard committed to Stanford, averages 24.6 points per game, while Battle, a 6-foot-7 forward who will play for George Washington, puts up 22.2 ppg. The Islanders have lost four games this season, but have played an elite schedule and have victories over some of the state's top competition, including an eight-point win against No. 1-4A Hopkins last week.

Named after former Chisholm coach Bob McDonald, who led his boys' basketball teams to more than 1,000 victories in a career spanning 59 years, the award is patterned after the Wooden Award, which is given annually to the best male and female player in Division I college basketball. 

The coaches’ association takes into account criteria such as strength of character, performance over the course of a season, contributions to team effort, and excelling offensively and defensively, when determining the winner.

The first recipient of the award was Tre Jones of Apple Valley, who was honored last April. Jones, a 6-foot-2 guard, is now in his freshman season at Duke. As a Blue Devil, Jones is playing 31 minutes per game, while averaging 8.7 points.

This season's finalists will be revealed in early March, with the winner being named later in the month or in early April.

View the table below to see who was selected.

McDonald Award semifinalists

Name Position School
Logan Nagorski Forward Big Lake
Carter Henry Forward BOLD
David Roddy Forward Breck
Noah Christensen Guard Breckenridge
Bennett Otto Guard Champlin Park
Cole Nicholson Forward Chaska
Jaeden King Guard Cretin-Derham Hall
Derek Techam Guard Delano
Tyrell Terry Guard DeLaSalle
Jamison Battle Forward DeLaSalle
Courtney Brown Jr. Forward East Ridge
Jack Middleton Guard Edina
Matt Johnson Guard Fergus Falls
Zeke Nnaji Forward Hopkins
Tyler Wahl Guard Lakeville North
Baden Noennig Guard Mayer Lutheran
Eli Campbell Guard Minneapolis North
Jake Kettner Guard Minnesota Valley Lutheran
Maleeck Harden-Hayes Forward Moorhead
Brandon Adelman Guard New London-Spicer
Cade Goggleye Center North Woods
Tommy Chatman Guard Park Center
Jenson Beachy Guard Perham
Robert Jones Center Prior Lake
Matthew Hurt Forward Rochester John Marshall
Isaac Fink Guard Springfield
Daveonte Davis Guard St. Paul Central
Antwan Kimmons Guard Tartan
Malik Willingham Guard Waseca
Jacob Beeninga Guard Wayzata

Basketball Hub Headlines

Feed for https://www.startribune.com/sports/index.rss2