skip navigation

McDonald Award semifinalists announced

By SportsEngine, 02/19/18, 6:00PM CST


Thirty-five players made the list.

The Minnesota Basketball Coaches Association has unveiled its list of 35 semifinalists for the 2018 McDonald Award.

The McDonald Award, named after coach Bob McDonald, will be presented each season to the Senior Player of the Year beginning with the 2017-18 season. A list of 10 finalists will be named in early March and the recipient of the award will be honored sometime in late March or early April.

It's the intention of the coaches' association for this to grow into the definitive Minnesota boys' basketball award.

Apple Valley senior Tre Jones, who is one of this year's McDonald Award semifinalists. Photo by Jeff Lawler, SportsEngine

Apple Valley senior Tre Jones, who is one of this year's McDonald Award semifinalists. Photo by Jeff Lawler, SportsEngine

Name Position School
Tre Jones Point Guard Apple Valley
Duoth Gach Shooting Guard Austin
Owen King Point Guard Caledonia
Josiah Strong Shooting Guard Champlin Park
Daniel Oturu Center Cretin-Derham Hall
Calvin Wishart Point Guard Delano
Gabe Kalscheur Shooting Guard DeLaSalle
Kyler Kluge Point Guard Eden Prairie
Anders Nelson Point Guard Edina
Adam Trapp Center Esko
Nathan Rund Shooting Guard Fergus Falls
Nate Seelye Small Forward Grand Rapids
Noah Kannegiesser Shooting Guard Hancock
Joseph Hedstrom Center Hopkins
Eric Tiedman Small Forward Jordan
Damani Hayes Small Forward Mankato East
Beijan Newbern Shooting Guard Maranatha Academy
Trey Lance Point Guard Marshall
JaVonni Bickham Power Forward Minnehaha Academy
Matt Todd Point Guard Monticello
Odell Wilson Center Minneapolis North
Goodnews Kpegeol Shooting Guard North St. Paul
Jarvis Omersa Power Forward Orono
Zach Theisen Shooting Guard Osseo
Jarius Cook Shooting Guard Park Center
Steele Senske Shooting Guard Park Christian
Jordan Belka Power Forward Rogers
Cody Landwehr Power Forward Sauk Rapids-Rice
Michael Schaefer Small Forward St. Cloud Cathedral
Brevyn-Spann Ford Power Forward St. Cloud Tech
Cire Mayfield Point Guard St. Louis Park
Sam Vascellaro Small Forward St. Thomas Academy
Ethan Youso Power Forward Virginia
Noah Slagter Point Guard Willmar
Michael Jones Small Forward Woodbury

Basketball Hub Headlines

  • Star Tribune Talking Preps spring podcast: Episode 7

  • By Star Tribune 06/06/2018, 7:45pm CDT
  • In the latest Talking Preps, the Star Tribune's David La Vaque and Jim Paulsen hold court on the recent rejection of a basketball shot clock -- remember that wacky Hopkins-Shakopee game? -- and preview state softball and track and field competition.
  • Read More
  • Star Tribune Talking Preps spring podcast: Episode 4

  • By Star Tribune 05/16/2018, 8:15pm CDT
  • In the latest Talking Preps, Jim Paulsen takes aim at the seemingly unchecked internet-fueled buzz about young high school stars while David La Vaque previews the True Team state track meet and its awesome post-game party scene.
  • Read More

Feed for https://www.startribune.com/sports/index.rss2