skip navigation

2018 Mr. Basketball watch list released

By MN Basketball Hub Staff, 01/16/18, 3:45PM CST


The Mr. Basketball committee named 26 of the state's top seniors as candidates to win the award.

Orono's Jarvis Omersa (left) and Mankato East's Damani Hayes are two of the 26 seniors on the 2018 Mr. Basketball watch list released Jan. 16. Photo by Jeff Lawler, SportsEngine

The Mr. Basketball Committee has announced its watch list for the 2018 Mr. Basketball award.

Candidates are listed in alphabetical order.

Name Position High School College Commitment
Sy Chatman F Cretin-Derham Hall Undecided
Jarius Cook G Park Center North Dakota State
Anthony Davis G Hopkins Undecided
Duoth Gach G Austin Undecided
Damani Hayes F Mankato East Undecided
Joe Hedstrom C Hopkins Wisconsin
Tayler Johnson G Minneapolis North Undecided
Michael Jones G Woodbury Davidson
Tre Jones G Apple Valley Duke
Gabe Kalscheur G DeLaSalle Minnesota
Noah Kannegiesser G Hancock Undecided
Owen King G Caledonia South Dakota State
Ryan Larson G Cretin-Derham Hall Undecided
Shae Mitchell F Lakeville South Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Anders Nelson G Edina Undecided
Jarvis Omersa F Orono Minnesota
Daniel Oturu C Cretin-Derham Hall Minnesota
Nathan Rund G Fergus Falls Undecided
Michael Schaefer F St. Cloud Cathedral Undecided
Noah Slagter G Willmar Northwestern College (Iowa)
Brevyn Spann-Ford F St. Cloud Tech Minnesota (Football)
Eric Tiedman F Jordan Undecided
Matt Todd G Monticello Undecided
Odell Wilson F Minneapolis North Undecided
Calvin Wishart G Delano Georgia Southern
Ethan Youso F Virginia Minnesota-Duluth

The Top 10 will be announced in early February, and the Final Five will be announced in early March.

The 2018 Mr. Basketball winner will be named on Wednesday, March 28 during an on-court ceremony during the Minnesota Timberwolves games.

The Mr. Basketball Committee:
Email: mrbasketballmncommittee@gmail.com
Twitter: @MrBB_MN

Basketball Hub Headlines

  • Star Tribune Talking Preps spring podcast: Episode 7

  • By Star Tribune 06/06/2018, 7:45pm CDT
  • In the latest Talking Preps, the Star Tribune's David La Vaque and Jim Paulsen hold court on the recent rejection of a basketball shot clock -- remember that wacky Hopkins-Shakopee game? -- and preview state softball and track and field competition.
  • Read More
  • Star Tribune Talking Preps spring podcast: Episode 4

  • By Star Tribune 05/16/2018, 8:15pm CDT
  • In the latest Talking Preps, Jim Paulsen takes aim at the seemingly unchecked internet-fueled buzz about young high school stars while David La Vaque previews the True Team state track meet and its awesome post-game party scene.
  • Read More

Feed for https://www.startribune.com/sports/index.rss2