skip navigation

All-tournament teams announced

By Trevor Squire, SportsEngine, 03/29/17, 12:00PM CDT


Minneapolis North led all state entrants with four selections.

Senior guard Isaac Johnson was one of four Minneapolis North players named to the Class 1A All-Tournament team. Photo by Brian Nelson, SportsEngine

Class 1A

Minneapolis North bulldozed its way through the Class 1A field in defense of its state title. The Polars’ average margin of victory was 46 points per game and all three contests went to running time -- domination that helped Minneapolis North earn four selections on the all-tournament team. 

Polars senior guard and Western Illinois commit Isaac Johnson led all scorers in the small-school field with 25.7 ppg. North junior forward ODell Wilson IV averaged 18.3 points and 10.7 rebounds per game as the top rebounder in the Class 1A tournament, while teammates Tayler Johnson, a junior swingman who had a tournament-high nine steals, and JaQuan Sanders-Smith rounded out the Polars' selections.

In its first trip to state, North Woods found itself playing in the 1A championship game thanks to Cade Goggleye, who may have solidified all-tournament honors after two impressive late-game performances. The sophomore guard nailed a half-court buzzer-beater to upset third-seeded Central Minnesota Christian in the quarterfinals and then sank the game-winning free throws against No. 2 Goodhue in the semifinals. Tate Olson was also named to the all-tournament team. The Grizzlies junior forward was crucial to the win over the Wildcats, hitting six three-pointers, and finished the tournament with 14 -- the most in the Class 1A field.

Here’s the entire list.

Ethan Brouwer, Central Minnesota Christian forward 

Rob McClain Jr., Red Lake guard 

Isaac Fink, Springfield guard

Jacob McNamara, Goodhue center 

Cade Goggleye, North Woods guard

Tate Olson, North Woods forward

Tayler Johnson, Minneapolis North guard 

Isaac Johnson, Minneapolis North guard

JaQuan Sanders-Smith, Minneapolis North guard

ODell Wilson IV, Minneapolis North center


Class 2A

Minnehaha Academy hoisted a state championship trophy for the second time in the past five years behind the play of three all-tournament selections in freshmen Jalen Suggs, Terry Lockett and junior JaVonni Bickham. Suggs, a 6-foot-3 guard, finished with a Class 2A-best 72 points (24.0 ppg) and posted nine steals in three games. 

Runner-up Crosby-Ironton also had three players receive all-tournament honors. Seniors Noah Gindorff, Jack Silgen and Trey Jacobs put forth a workmanlike effort, playing all but one minute of the tournament. Gindorff, a center, averaged 17.7 points per game and posted a tournament-best 34 rebounds and 15 blocks.

The all-tournament team is listed below.

Marc Kjos, Lake City guard

Oakley Baker, New Richland-H-E-G guard 

Michael Schaefer, St. Cloud Cathedral forward 

Jarod Wilken, Annandale forward 

Trey Jacobs, Crosby-Ironton forward

Noah Gindorff, Crosby-Ironton center 

Jack Silgen, Crosby-Ironton guard

Jalen Suggs, Minnehaha Academy guard

JaVonni Bickham, Minnehaha Academy forward 

Terry Lockett, Minnehaha Academy guard


Class 3A

A 28-point, 11-rebound outing by George Mason bound Goanar Mar in the title game against Austin led DeLaSalle to its sixth straight Class 3A championship. The senior forward was the tournament’s top scorer (20.7 ppg), rebounder (10.3 rpg) and shot blocker (8 total) and was one of three Islanders to be named to the all-tournament team.

Junior guard Gabe Kalscheur averaged 20.3 ppg (second most in the field) and sophomore guard Tyrell Terry posted a second-best 12 assists.

Austin also had three all-tournament team selections, highlighted by junior guards Duoth and Both Gach. Duoth was the tournament’s third-leading scorer at 18.7 ppg while Both averaged 17.1 ppg and led the Class 3A field with 13 assists. Senior forward Oman Oman joined the Gach brothers on the team.

View the entire list below.

Sam Vascellaro, St. Thomas Academy guard 

Matthew Monke, Fergus Falls forward 

Wendell Matthews, Columbia Heights forward 

Mitchell Sueker, Marshall forward 

Both Gach, Austin guard 

Oman Oman, Austin forward 

Duoth Gach, Austin guard

Tyrell Terry, DeLaSalle guard 

Gabe Kalscheur, DeLaSalle guard 

Goanar Mar, DeLaSalle forward 

Class 4A

Tre Jones’ stifling performance in the Class 4A championship boosted Apple Valley to its second championship in three years. The do-it-all junior guard led the field in several statistical categories, finishing with 25.7 points and 10.4 rebounds per game. He also totaled 18 assists and four steals. Jones capped a tremendous tournament by recording 28 points, 18 rebounds and five assists against Champlin Park in the title game, a performance that helped earn him a spot on the all-tournament team. Mohamed Kone and Luke Martens also made the team for the Eagles.

Runner-up Champlin Park also had three players selected to the all-state squad, led by Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year McKinley Wright IV. The senior guard and Dayton commit averaged 21.7 ppg in the tournament. Senior forward Theo John, who’s committed to Marquette, had a tournament-best 16 blocks, including eight in the championship game, and Marcus Hill were the other Rebels to receive honors.

Nathan Reuvers, Lakeville North forward 

Daniel Oturu, Cretin-Derham Hall forward 

Brad Davison, Maple Grove guard 

Gavin Baumgartner, Wayzata guard 

McKinley Wright IV, Champlin Park guard 

Theo John, Champlin Park forward 

Marcus Hill, Champlin Park guard

Tre Jones, Apple Valley guard 

Mohamed Kone, Apple Valley guard 

Luke Martens, Apple Valley guard 


How the teams were picked

Media members selected 10 players from each class during the championship games based on the following criteria:

"Students who demonstrate exceptional sportsmanship, team commitment, athletic ability and leadership during the tournament." 

The votes were tallied by the Minnesota State High School League, with the top 10 receiving a spot on the team.


Spotlight Games

Recent News