skip navigation

Minnesota AP All-State boys basketball teams

By Shane Koob, Sport Ngin, 03/16/16, 1:45PM CDT


The Associated Press released its 2016 All-State teams on Tuesday, and named Amir Coffey Player of the Year.

Amir Coffey has been named Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year, 2016 Mr. Basketball and now the AP's Player of the Year. Photo by Rick Orndorf

Hopkins' Amir Coffey, already Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year and 2016 Mr. Basketball, was named the Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year and first team All-State on Tuesday.

A 6-8 senior guard who led the Royals to a 31-1 record and Class 4A state championship, Coffey is a Gophers commit and averaged 19.9 points per game this season.

First team

Amir Coffey, senior, Hopkins 

Michael Hurt, senior, Rochester John Marshall 

Steffon Mitchell, senior, Shakopee 

Gary Trent Jr., junior, Apple Valley 

Tre Jones, sophomore, Apple Valley 

Second team

Brad Davison, junior, Maple Grove

Johnny Beeninga, senior, Wayzata 

Tyler Johnson, senior, Minneapolis North

Brock Bertram, senior, Apple Valley 

Goanar Mar, junior, DeLaSalle

Third team

Nate Albers, senior, Mounds View 

Nathan Reuvers, junior, Lakeville North

Ade Murkey, senior, St. Croix Lutheran

Nathan Rund, sophomore, Fergus Falls

Travis Toivonen, senior, Red Wing

Most Popular