skip navigation

Mr. Basketball finalists announced

By Shane Koob, Sport Ngin, 03/14/16, 8:15PM CDT


The Mr. Basketball of Minnesota Committee named five seniors as finalists for the top boys' hoops player in the state.

The Mr. Basketball of Minnesota Committee announced the five finalists for the 2016 honor on Monday, March 7. The winner will be announced after the boys' state tournament, which runs March 9-12

Mr. Basketball is an annual award recognizing excellence in Minnesota boys' basketball and given to the best high school senior in the state.

A nine-member committee, headed by Ken Lien since 1977, makes its selection based on watching film from over 120 high school games and creating reviews on each player. The winner is then invited to an honorary dinner, along with the Ms. Basketball Minnesota winner, usually held in April.

*Stats listed are from regular season only.

**Poll does not factor into Mr. Basketball selection process.

past Mr. basketball winners

2015: J.T. Gibson, Champlin Park

2014: Tyus Jones, Apple Valley

2013: Quinton Hooker, Park Center

2012: Siyani Chambers, Hopkins

2011: Joe Coleman, Hopkins

2010: Kevin Noreen, Minnesota Transitions

2009: Royce White, Hopkins

2008: Jordan Taylor, Benilde-St. Margaret's

2007: Blake Hoffarber, Hopkins

2006: Isaiah Dahlman, Braham 

2005: Travis Busch, Mounds View

2004: Spencer Tollackson, Chaska

2003: Kris Humphries, Hopkins

2002: Stephen King, Academy of Holy Angels

2001: Rick Rickert, Duluth East

2000: Adam Boone, Minnetonka

1999: Nick Horvath, Mounds View

1998: Joel Pryzbilla, Monticello; Darius Lane, Totino-Grace

1997: Khalid El-Amin, Minneapolis North

1996: Mitch Ohnstad, Fairbault

1995: Robert Mestas, Minneapolis Roosevelt

1994: Sam Jacobson, Park High

1993: Skipp Schaefbauer, Elk River

1992: Brett Yonke, Eagan

1991: Joel McDonald, Chisholm

1990: Chad Kolander, Owatonna

1989: Tom Conroy, DeLaSalle

1988: Derek Reuben, Minneapolis North

1987: Kevin Lynch, Bloomington Jefferson

1986: Steve Schlotthauer, Mounds View

1985: Brett McNeal, Minneapolis North

1984: Tim Hanson, Prior Lake

1983: Tom Copa, Coon Rapids

1982: Rob Shelquist, Irondale

1981: Redd Overton, Minneapolis North

1980: Jim Peterson, St. Louis Park

1979: Greg Downing, Duluth Central; Randy Breuer, Lake City

1978: Jim Jenson, Bemidji

1977: Brian Pederson, Prior Lake

1976: Kevin McHale, Hibbing

1975: Gene Glynn, Waseca