skip navigation

Meet the Star Tribune All-Metro first team

By Star Tribune, 03/07/16, 9:00PM CST


Click to see the five players named to the list.

The Star Tribune All-Metro first team (from left) Brad Davison (Maple Grove), Gary Trent Jr. (Apple Valley), Player of the Year Amir Coffey (Hopkins), Steffon Mitchell (Shakopee) and Tre Jones (Apple Valley). Photos by Jeff Wheeler, Star Tribune

Prep Power Play: Star Tribune boys' basketball All-Metro first team

Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year

All-Metro First Team


The Star Tribune’s All-Metro teams and Metro Player of the Year were chosen based on nominations from metro-area coaches, conversations with a panel of coaches and staff observations.

1986 Steve Schlotthauer Mounds View
1987 Kevin Lynch
Dan Banister
Bloomington Jefferson
Minneapolis North
1988 Mike Polomny Park Center
1989 Juriad Hughs St. Paul Central
1990 Mike VandeGarde Bloomington Jefferson
1991 Brian Carpenter Minneapolis Washburn
1992 Bret Yonke Eagan
1993 Skipp Schaefbauer Elk River
1994 Sam Jacobson Park
1995 Nate Holmstadt Monticello
1996 Khalid El-Amin Minneapolis North
1997 Jared Nuness Hopkins
1998 Joel Przybilla Monticello
1999 Shane Schilling Minnetonka
2000 Adam Boone Minnetonka
2001 Alan Anderson DeLaSalle
2002 Kris Humphries Hopkins
2003 Kris Humphries Hopkins
2004 Spencer Tollackson Chaska
2005 Travis Busch Mounds View
2006 Bryce Webster St. Thomas Academy
2007 Cole Aldrich Bloomington Jefferson
2008 Anthony Tucker Minnetonka
2009 Mike Bruesewitz Henry Sibley
2010 Kevin Noreen Minnesota Transititions
2011 Joe Coleman Hopkins
2012 Tyus Jones Apple Valley
2013 Reid Travis DeLaSalle
2014 Tyus Jones Apple Valley
2015 JT Gibson Champlin Park
2016 Amir Coffey Hopkins
2017 McKinley Wright Champlin Park
2018 Tre Jones Apple Valley

Past All-Metro first teams

Recent News