skip navigation

2023 all-tournament team revealed

By SportsEngine Staff, 04/11/23, 11:45AM CDT


See which players made the 2023 all-tournament teams.

Russell-Tyler-Ruthton's Aidan Wichmann takes the ball down the court during the Knights' 59-49 Class 1A championship win against New Life Academy. Wichmann is one of three Knights on the Class 1A all-tournament team. Photo by Korey McDermott, SportsEngine

The 2022-23 boys basketball state tournament saw two games decided by just four points and the others within 10.

The Class 4A all-tournament team features two players from state champion Wayzata, who needed extra time to defeat Park Center — winners of 22 straight games to start the season and 14 of which its offense scored over 90 points — in the title game. Junior Jackson McAndrew, who averaged nearly 17 points per game throughout the season, scored 25 points in the Trojans’ win. Hayden Tibbets added 18 points in the championship game.

Totino-Grace edged DeLaSalle in the Class 3A title game, taking a 50-46 victory as three players earned a spot in the Class 3A all-tournament team, more than any other 3A school.

Albany led the Class 2A all-tournament team with three players, including sophomores Ezekial Austin and Sam Hondl. After a loss in their fourth game of the season, the Huskies were undefeated the next 29 games, finishing with the Class 2A championship in a 72-65 victory against Minnehaha Academy for the Huskies’ first state championship.

Class 1A state champion Russell-Tyler-Ruthton was one game away from a perfect season. Aside from a 72-70 loss to Dawson-Boyd on Feb. 27, the Knights won their remaining 30 games, 24 of which were by double-digit margins. The Knights’ trio of Aiden Wichmann, Hayden Gravley and Drew Werkman were a big reason for the Knights’ success. The three combined for 1,313 points on the season before earning a spot on the Class 1A all-tournament team. Their 40 combined points helped the Knights earn a 59-49 win against New Life Academy.

See the table below for the full list of players selected to the all-tournament teams.

Class 4A

First Name School
Ben Kopetzki Andover
Dylan Omweno Eastview
Jon Mekonnen Eastview
Jack Robison Lakeville North
Nolan Winter Lakeville North
Jackson Fowlkes Park Center
Casmir Chavis Park Center
Jackson McAndrew Wayzata
Hayden Tibbits Wayzata
Jack Janicki White Bear Lake

Class 3A

First Name School
Grayson Grove Alexandria
Nasir Whitlock DeLaSalle
Isreal Moses DeLaSalle
Isaiah Hagen Orono
Kyle Kallenbach Orono
Matthew Bothun St Francis
Henry Tschetter Stewartville
Taison Chatman Totino-Grace
Tommy Humphries Totino-Grace
Patrick Bath Totino-Grace

Class 2A

First Name School
Ezekial Austin Albany
Tysen Gerads Albany
Sam Hondl Albany
Owen Leach Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton
Collin Mulholland Holy Family Catholic
Boden Kapke Holy Family Catholic
Hayden Niebuhr Maple River
Jerome Williams Minnehaha Academy
Rolyns Aligbe Minnehaha Academy
Grant Loge Pequot Lakes

Class 1A

Name School
Isaac Asuma Cherry
Noah Asuma Cherry
Alex Lester Nevis
Erick Reader New Life Academy
Max Briggs New Life Academy
Hayden Gravley Russell-Tyler-Ruthton
Aiden Wichmann Russell-Tyler-Ruthton
Drew Werkman Russell-Tyler-Ruthton
Jaxon Strinmoen Spring Grove
Elijah Solum Spring Grove

Basketball Hub Headlines

Feed for https://www.startribune.com/sports/index.rss2