skip navigation

Chet Holmgren adds Mr. Basketball to senior year honors

By Star Tribune, 04/13/21, 5:30PM CDT


Minnehaha Academy becomes the first school to produce back-to-back winners of the award since Hopkins in 2011 and 2012.

Minnehaha Academy's Chet Holmgren (34) scores from the paint in the first half of the Class 3A semifinal game against DeLaSalle at Target Center. Holmgren finished with 25 points for the Redhawks. Photo by Cheryl A. Myers, SportsEngine

Chet Holmgren received the Mr. Basketball award Tuesday in a presentation at Minnehaha Academy.

The 7-1 center follows teammate Jalen Suggs, who won the award last year before heading to Gonzaga University. Holmgren has yet to announce his college plans but much speculation centers on him landing at Gonzaga as well.

The award, which was established in 1975, honors the top senior high school basketball player in the state. The only other school to have back-to-back winners was Hopkins, which had Joe Coleman win in 2011 and Siyani Chambers in 2012.

Holmgren with the Mr. Basketball award. (Photo courtesy David Hedberg)

Holmgren led his team to its fourth state championship in its last four tries last week when the Redhawks defeated Alexandria to win the Class 3A title.

He also was named the Star Tribune’s Metro Player of the Year and has received numerous national honors as well, including the Naismith Award and the Wootten Award.

Other finalists for the Mr. Basketball award were Lamar Grayson of Richfield, Andrew Morgan of Waseca, Francis Nwaokorie of Champlin Park and Will Tschetter of Stewartville.

Basketball Hub Headlines