skip navigation

Metro Player of the Year

Past Players of the Year

1986 Steve Schlotthauer Mounds View
1987 Kevin Lynch
Dan Banister
Bloomington Jefferson
Minneapolis North
1988 Mike Polomny Park Center
1989 Juriad Hughs St. Paul Central
1990 Mike VandeGarde Bloomington Jefferson
1991 Brian Carpenter Minneapolis Washburn
1992 Bret Yonke Eagan
1993 Skipp Schaefbauer Elk River
1994 Sam Jacobson Park
1995 Nate Holmstadt Monticello
1996 Khalid El-Amin Minneapolis North
1997 Jared Nuness Hopkins
1998 Joel Przybilla Monticello
1999 Shane Schilling Minnetonka
2000 Adam Boone Minnetonka
2001 Alan Anderson DeLaSalle
2002 Kris Humphries Hopkins
2003 Kris Humphries Hopkins
2004 Spencer Tollackson Chaska
2005 Travis Busch Mounds View
2006 Bryce Webster St. Thomas Academy
2007 Cole Aldrich Bloomington Jefferson
2008 Anthony Tucker Minnetonka
2009 Mike Bruesewitz Henry Sibley
2010 Kevin Noreen Minnesota Transititions
2011 Joe Coleman Hopkins
2012 Tyus Jones Apple Valley
2013 Reid Travis DeLaSalle
2014 Tyus Jones Apple Valley
2015 JT Gibson Champlin Park
2016 Amir Coffey Hopkins
2017 McKinley Wright Champlin Park

Most Popular

  • 2
  • The State of Hoops

  • 03/19/2012, 10:15pm CDT , By Patrick Reusse, Star Tribune
  • 1946-1970: Basketball was king during the Golden Era and small communities ruled
  • Read More 2
  • A changing landscape

  • 03/19/2012, 10:14pm CDT , By Brian Wicker, Star Tribune
  • 1971-2012: The Modern Era saw tumultuous changes and the rise of powerful stars
  • Read More
  • Youth basketball growth chart

  • 05/20/2017, 7:12pm CDT , By Star Tribune
  • Thousands of Minnesota youngsters play basketball all year long in programs that provide skill development and, for a growing number, national exposure leading to Division I scholarships.
  • Read More