skip navigation

Star Tribune boys' basketball past Metro Players of the Year

03/20/2017, 8:36pm CDT
By Star Tribune

McKinley Wright is the second Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year from Champlin Park in the past three years. J.T. Gibson was honored in 2015.


1986: Steve Schlotthauer, Mounds View

1987: Kevin Lynch, Bl. Jefferson, and Dan Banister, Mpls. North

1988: Mike Polomny, Park Center

1989: Juriad Hughes, St. Paul Central

1990: Mike VandeGarde, Bl. Jefferson

1991: Brian Carpenter, Mpls. Washburn

1992: Bret Yonke, Eagan

1993: Skipp Schaefbauer, Elk River

1994: Sam Jacobson, Park of Cottage Grove

1995: Nate Holmstadt, Monticello

1996: Khalid El-Amin, Mpls. North

1997: Jared Nuness, Hopkins

1998: Joel Przybilla, Monticello

1999: Shane Schilling, Minnetonka

2000: Adam Boone, Minnetonka

2001: Alan Anderson, DeLaSalle

2002: Kris Humphries, Hopkins

2003: Humphries

2004: Spencer Tollackson, Chaska

2005: Travis Busch, Mounds View

2006: Bryce Webster, St. Thomas Academy

2007: Cole Aldrich, Bloomington Jefferson

2008: Anthony Tucker, Minnetonka

2009: Mike Bruesewitz, Henry Sibley

2010: Kevin Noreen, MN Transitions

2011: Joe Coleman, Hopkins

2012: Tyus Jones, Apple Valley

2013: Reid Travis, DeLaSalle

2014: Tyus Jones, Apple Valley

2015: J.T. Gibson, Champlin Park

2016: Amir Coffey, Hopkins

2017: McKinley Wright, Champlin Park

Related Stories

  • Minnesota boys' basketball schedules posted

  • 10/12/2017, 12:15pm CDT , By Trevor Squire, SportsEngine
  • Cretin-Derham Hall and St. Paul Central face off on opening day. A week later, Apple Valley and Minnehaha Academy will be in the national spotlight.
  • Read More

Tag(s): Hub exclusives  Star Tribune  Henry Sibley  St. Thomas Academy  Hopkins  Minnetonka  Monticello  Chaska  Champlin Park  Elk River  Park Center  St. Paul Central  Apple Valley  Bloomington Jefferson  Eagan  Mounds View  Park of Cottage Grove  DeLaSalle  Valley  North